Home > Oracle, SQL > The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the EXPLAIN PLAN (Act I)

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the EXPLAIN PLAN (Act I)


On the Toad World site, I’m publishing a whole series of blog posts and articles on the subject of EXPLAIN PLAN. I’m using EXPLAIN PLAN as a central motif to teach not just SQL tuning but relational theory, logical database design, and physical database design. In a year’s time, I hope to have enough material for a self-published book.

I’ve published five blog posts so far:

Part 1: DON’T PANIC

Part 2: A Long Time Ago

Part 3: The Impossible Dream (and Why We Need EXPLAIN PLAN)

Part 4: Secret Sauce

Bonus article: Introduction to Relational Algebra and Relational Calculus

You can register at Toad World if you would like to be notified whenever there’s a new post.

Categories: Oracle, SQL Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment