Home > Career Advice, DBA, Oracle > Mailbag: Becoming a DBA

Mailbag: Becoming a DBA


Good evening Sir,

My name is J. [name withheld]. I just purchased your book “Beginning Oracle Database 11g Administration: From Novice to Professional.”

I just got laid off last week (the second time since Dec 2008). I was an IT Support Liaison for a global software company named [name withheld]. A few days before my departure, I spent time with our Director of Consulting and I expressed to him my desire to becoming a DBA. He advised me to buy your book and also the “expert version” written by Sam R. Alapati. I do have Oracle 10g Express Edition and PL/SQL installed on my laptop, not Oracle 11g.

I don’t have a background in Oracle (I did provide end-user support on one module of Oracle R12) and as far as SQL goes, I only ran DB2 queries while working years back on a Asset management project with IBM.

Basically, I’m a pure novice with a lot of determination in becoming an Oracle DBA.

Are there other books that you have written that I could also use in the coming months?

What advice would you give a beginner such as myself?

Thank you for your time and have a wonderful evening.

Best Regards,

J. P. [name withheld]

Hello, J.,

If you have decided to study Oracle database administration, you should aim for the Oracle Database 11g Administrator Certified Professional certification.

I recommend OCA/OCP Oracle Database 11g All-in-One Exam Guide because it covers all three exams required for certification. I also recommend practicing the exercises in the free, online 2 Day DBA guide; each chapter has a link to an Oracle By Example (OBE) online tutorial containing step-by-step instructions and screenshots.

If you pass the first two exams, you will receive the Database 11g Administrator Certified Associate (OCA) certification.

You need to complete of at least one of certain recommended instructor-led online or in-class courses before you can take the third exam. This can be quite expensive but continuing education providers offer Oracle training for 50% less than Oracle University. You can search for providers at https://workforce.oracle.com/pls/wdp/new_home.main.

For example, the Southern Polytechnic State University in Marietta offers Oracle training (http://oce.spsu.edu/crs/cert/cert-Oracle11gDb.htm). Financial aid may be available through the Workforce Investment Act (http://oce.spsu.edu/policies/pol-finneeds.htm).

Also, check the Georgia WIA Eligible Provider List for approved ITA eligible training programs and providers.

I also recommend that you join the Georgia Oracle Users Group and network with Oracle professionals at the monthly meetings.

I hope this helps.

Iggy

Mailbag: SQL Exercises
Mailbag: Advice for an Oracle 9i DBA
Mailbag: Is It Too Late For Me To Start
Mailbag: Is This Book For Me?

Categories: Career Advice, DBA, Oracle
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

