Home > DBA, Oracle > Mailbag: Advice for an Oracle 9i DBA

Mailbag: Advice for an Oracle 9i DBA


Dear Iggy,

I’m M. S. [name withheld], 25 years old, Egyptian, graduated from the faculty of Computer Science & Information Systems in 2006, working in KSA.

First I want to thank you very much for your book; it’s really very helpful.

I’m OCP DBA 9i from 2006 but I never implemented Oracle. I know SQL, PL/SQL, Forms 9i basics & concepts.

Actually now I will be Oracle DBA 11g in a new project. Please give me your advice about where I can start.

Thanks a lot for reading.

M. S. [name withheld]

Dear M.,

I apologize for the delay in my reply. I recommend that you install Oracle Database 11g on your laptop and practice using it; the best way to learn is by doing. I also recommend practicing the exercises in the free, online 2 Day DBA guide; each chapter has a link to an Oracle By Example (OBE) online tutorial containing step-by-step instructions and screenshots.

Oracle database administration basics have not changed but Oracle Database 10g and 11g have many new features that you should study. Here are some free, online resources:

You can find a more detailed discussion of new features in the following books:

You should also consider upgrading your certification. You can upgrade your certification directly from Oracle 9i OCP DBA to Oracle 11g OCP DBA by taking exam 1Z0-055. Here are some Oracle-authorized practice exams.

Best of luck in your new assignment,

Iggy

Subscribe to this blog by Email

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

