Home > DBA, Oracle > Mailbag: Is This Book For Me?

Mailbag: Is This Book For Me?


Dear IGGY FERNANDEZ ,

Hope this e-mail finds you in good health and spirit. I purchased you book in order to embark on a self study of Oracle in order to pursue a career as a DBA. My education background is of a Bachelor Degree in Information Systems (Honors) from UK. If it is not much of a bother, may I ask a question before I venture in to the quest.

In you book you stated, and I quote ”If you are an IT professional who has been thrust into an Oracle Database administration role without the benefit of formal training, or just want to understand how Oracle Database works, then I wrote this book for you”.

The problem is I have no background in programming and my professional experience consists of as a business analyst. I will make it short and ask the question that Is the book for me?

Regards

J. [name withheld]

Dear J,

Since you have a degree in information systems, you already have the necessary generalist training necessary to pursue further studies in a specialized information technology field such as database administration; actual work experience as a computer programmer is not a prerequisite. Check the description of the database administration role in the ITIL literature; you can find it at http://books.google.com/books?id=8CXMmEJHzikC&pg=PA147. A database administrator may be occasionally called upon to collaborate with application software developers but does not have to be one himself or herself.

I cannot predict if you will be successful in changing careers but uncertainty about the future should not stop you from continuing your studies. If I could live my professional life all over again, the one thing I would do differently is to put aside regular time for study. Study never hurts us, it can only improve us and it’s never too late to begin. Knowledge of database administration might even help you be a better business analyst.

I tried to teach the subject of database administration as best as I could and, yes, I wrote this book for IT professionals just like you.

Best wishes,

Iggy

Categories: DBA, Oracle
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

