Home > Uncategorized > Freedom from unread books

Freedom from unread books


Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky,
My pile of books is a mile high.
How I love them! How I need them!
I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them”

—Lobel, Arnold. Whiskers and Rhymes. William Morrow & Co, 1988.

To celebrate Independence Day, I freed myself from several hundred pounds of old books and manuals, most in new condition, that I had accumulated over the years but never read. Here is a picture of me with some of the books before they went into the recyling bin. A complete set of Ingres 6.4 manuals still in shrink wrap also went into the recycling bin. You can clearly see some of them in the middle of the pile if you click on the picture and zoom in.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 5, 2012 at 2:40 am

    how about your library in pdf etc ? .)

  2. July 5, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Too funny Iggy!!! I just did the same thing with a couple hundred pounds of my books, except I donated all of mine to the local library so I can still read them if I choose.

    • Iggy Fernandez
      July 5, 2012 at 5:51 pm

      I’ll check if the local library wants a complete set of unread Ingres 6.4 manuals :-)

  3. jgarry
    July 5, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I tell ya, every so often someone posts about ancient history, and my O5 and O6 books almost get opened… my sql guide written by Larry must be getting valuable…

    • Iggy Fernandez
      July 5, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      I’ll trade you a complete set of unread Ingres 6.4 manuals for Larry’s SQL guide :-)

  4. July 5, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Iggy, you know, you really shouldn’t be wearing a print shirt with plaid shorts. Oh, wait, I forgot, you’re an Oracle DBA, never mind! – Someone still holding onto his Oracle 7 Administrators Guide with the “Dirty reads done dirt cheap” verbiage still in it!

    • Iggy Fernandez
      July 5, 2012 at 5:50 pm

      Michael Fontana :

      print shirt with plaid shorts.

      I’ll see if I can fix that with Photoshop :-)

      P.S. Yes, I’m keeping the Oracle7 Server Administrator’s Guide :-)

  5. July 6, 2012 at 3:00 am

    Wow !!! A nice pic to treasure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 743 other followers

